Migratory Thoughts – a Summertime Perspective

Rock cairn in Acadia National Park

Hey, did you notice the change??  I’m no longer standing above a volcanic lake in Nicaragua.  Now I’m in front of a glacial lake in Waterton Lakes National Park in Alberta (Canada).  Well, actually, at this very moment I’m sitting in front of my computer typing.  But, if you’ve been here before, you know what I’m talking about.  I’m referring to the image on the header of my blog site.  It appears that I’ve migrated north for the summer.   In fact, I have, though not just for a few days in Canada.  We’ll get to that in a minute.

Why the switch?  Well, I’ve been blogging for just over a year, and have decided that it’s time for a change.  What do you think?  Will my blog posts feel different when you see me dressed in pink and surrounded by snow-capped peaks and glacial waters?  After all (in case you’ve forgotten or are new here), I used to be in a red shirt by a lake bordered by dark green tropical forest.  How much do the images above a blog post, whether they’re deliberately inspected or only unconsciously perceived, influence the reader?  Especially when the content of the blog is unrelated….

Abi on Sargent Mountain

It’s a question to ponder, not necessarily to be answered in full.  But since we’re on the topic of photos – and in this case, photos of me in various places – I’m including a few of where I’m when not seated in front of the computer.  In part, I’m doing so to explain the absence of a blog post this week and maybe next (for which I hope you will forgive me).   I’ve migrated to Maine.  It’s an annual migration that began before I was born.  I’m addicted to spending part of the summer on “my” island (not mine alone, you understand), and to getting my fix of salt air, cool ocean breezes, hemlock-fir forests carpeted with sphagnum moss, and granite-topped mountains.   And, when I’m here I find it difficult to sit down and write.

So, I solicit your patience, and ask you to accept a shortened, less meticulously written entry for the week.  Yes, this blogging thing often feels like work.  It’s difficult.  I enjoy it – don’t get me wrong – but it doesn’t come easily.  I keep hoping that it will, that the words and the thoughts will flow more organically, but I’m not quite there yet.  In part, it’s because I have set high standards for myself, and am always conscious of meeting them.  I want to write well, and always feel good when people tell me I do.  I relish those compliments, but there’s a downside to them.  They paralyze me, making me afraid to post anything that’s less than well-written.

Ready to climb up – Acadia National Park

So, my summer resolution – in keeping with the relaxed, kick-back attitude of the season and with the change of venue – is to write shorter, less-labored blogs.  To express random thoughts and ideas, no matter how well-formed and articulate they may be.  To just write, and post, whatever it is I’ve written; to communicate more randomly with my readers, and to resist the pressure of having to post a story or essay full of depth, insight, humor or information.  After all, that’s what blogs are all about…

Are you okay with this?  After more than a year of blogging, it’s time that I hear what you’re looking for when you read a blog.  Or, more specifically (for my more faithful readers), what you hope for when you read my blog?  Let me know.  And while you consider your answer, enjoy the pictures of my northern migration.  I hope that you, too, are able to experience a cooler clime, a change of venue and a new perspective.  In any case, there’s the new picture in the header of my blog to inspire migratory thought.

Future header photo – Acadia National Park

About abitravel

I'm a lucky person since I've combined my two major passions, conservation and travel, into a profession of sorts. When I'm not organizing or leading an ecotour to Latin America or beyond, I engage in freelance writing and enjoy outdoor activities with my wife. That's the nutshell version!
This entry was posted in Nature, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Migratory Thoughts – a Summertime Perspective

  1. Eileen Nivera says:

    Hi Abigail, At first your blog page looks the same, but when you click on the title it goes to the page with the new photo. Both photos you wear salmon colored shirts. What do I want to read: stories, photos, your impressions of people and places, how does it make you feel.

  2. Abi – I think we write our blogs as much for ourselves as for our readers. If we’re getting bored with our own design then we need to change it. And if it starts to feel like work then we need to change the way we approach it. I always enjoy your posts but the main thing is that you enjoy writing them. Have fun in your northern summer, here in Austyralia it’s pouring with rain at the moment and rather chilly 🙂

    • abitravel says:

      I agree with you, Pam, about logging for ourselves. It’s great writing practice and a great way to figure out what you’re thinking and feeling. But I do love it when friends and strangers comment. And, the responses increase the enjoyment of it all. Keep warm and we’ll keep cool. And, in 4-6 months, we’ll be doing the reverse!

  3. Ooops – just changed the way we spell Australia!

Leave a Reply

